Asia Business Channel

COVID-19: Vietnam suspends visa-free travel for 8 European countries


The Vietnamese government has decided to temporarily suspend visa-free travel for the citizens of eight European countries amid growing concern over the coronavirus epidemic.

The temporary suspension applied to citizens of Denmark, Norway, Finland, Sweden, the United Kingdom, Germany, France and Spain, the government said in a news release on its website.

The move comes after the Southeast Asian country recorded an additional 14 cases over the weekend. Eleven of the cases were patients who had traveled from Europe.


Foreign tourists are sent to quarantine in Ha Long Town of Quang Ninh Province on March 7, 2020 as they are were on
the same flight with a COVID-19 patient in Hanoi. Photo by Giang Chinh @ VN Express

The government said it would consider the same measure to countries that have had more than 500 total infection cases or more than 50 cases reported in a day.

In all Vietnam has 35 confirmed cases of the disease caused by the virus, 100 suspected cases under quarantine and 16 cases of patients who have recovered, its health ministry said.

The country earlier halted visa-free travel for Italian and South Korean over the virus concern.




Read 120