Asia Business Channel

Myanmar adds more countries to “Visa On Arrival” list

Mandalay International Airport.


The Myanmar government has added six (6) more countries to its visa-on-arrival (VOA) list to make it easier for tourists to visit the country as it raises its tourism appeal worldwide. Effective this month, tourists from Australia, Germany, Italy, Russia, Spain and Switzerland will be eligible for a visas-on-arrival at Myanmar’s Yangon, Mandalay and Nay Pyi Taw international airports.

Nationals of countries that are on Myanmar’s VOA list do not need to secure pre-arranged approval before arriving at the airport and can apply for a VOA at any of the designated airports. VOA fees have been set at $50 USD.

So far, citizens from China (mainland), Hong Kong, India, Japan, Macau and South Korean, have received VOA status. According to government officials in charge of tourism, during the April ~ June, second quarter period, Myanmar’s tourism industry saw increases in arrivals from all countries that were either eligible for visa-free entry or a VOA.

May Myat Mon Win, Chairperson of Myanmar Tourism Marketing said, “We hope that all these new regulations to ease access to Myanmar will lead to more travellers from around the world to explore our unique culture, nature and the hospitality of the people.”




Read 216